The Springbok team to face England in Port Elizabeth is:

Pierre Spies will play in his 50th Test for South Africa when they take on England at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth on Saturday.

Spies was included in a starting 15 that shows three changes from the one that beat England in the second Test of the Castle Incoming Tour. Willem Alberts (flank) and Pat Lambie (fullback) were not declared fit for the Test.

Jacques Potgieter will make his Springbok debut at flank in the place of Alberts, Gio Aplon has been selected at fullback for Lambie and Wynand Olivier comes in at inside centre for Frans Steyn, who is getting married.

There are two changes on the bench. Flyhalf Elton Jantjies has been selected in a Test squad for the first time and will earn his Bok debut if he gets game time, while Ryan Kankowski takes over from Keegan Daniel.

“Injuries have forced us to make a number of changes, which is never ideal, but this provides an opportunity for players like Gio, Wynand and Jacques to put up their hands,” said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

“Gio is our third fullback of the series, but he’s experienced and has been part of our planning. Wynand came on as a replacement in both of the first two Tests and knows our game plan, while Jacques has impressed this year as a very strong ball carrier – hopefully he can continue with the good work Willem has done in the last fortnight.”

Meyer explained the changes on the bench as follows: “Jacques has not played for a while and we felt Ryan is the right option for this game if he needs to take over from Jacques, with his explosive running. Keegan did very well in the first two Tests, but for this match we felt that Ryan is a better option.

“Elton comes in to provide cover at flyhalf and is a very good goal kicking option, something we will miss with Frans not available.

“Bjorn Basson still covers all three positions in the back trio, JP Pietersen or Bryan Habana can play outside centre and Jean will move to inside centre if needed, so we are covered in all positions in the backline.”

The starting 15 boast a combined total of 464 Test caps – 299 for the backs and 165 for the forwards.

The Springbok team to face England in Port Elizabeth is:

Position Name Province Test Caps
15 Gio Aplon DHL Western Province 16
14 JP Pietersen The Sharks 44
13 Jean de Villiers (captain) DHL Western Province 74
12 Wynand Olivier Vodacom Blue Bulls 36
11 Bryan Habana DHL Western Province 76
10 Morné Steyn Vodacom Blue Bulls 36
9 Francois Hougaard Vodacom Blue Bulls 17
8 Pierre Spies Vodacom Blue Bulls 49
7 Jacques Potgieter Vodacom Blue Bulls 0
6 Marcell Coetzee The Sharks 2
5 Juandré Kruger Vodacom Blue Bulls 2
4 Eben Etzebeth DHL Western Province 2
3 Jannie du Plessis The Sharks 32
2 Bismarck du Plessis (vice-captain) The Sharks 44
1 Tendai Mtawarira The Sharks 34
16 Adriaan Strauss Toyota FS Cheetahs 11
17 Werner Kruger Vodacom Blue Bulls 3
18 Flip van der Merwe Vodacom Blue Bulls 13
19 Ryan Kankowski The Sharks 19
20 Ruan Pienaar Ulster, Ireland 53
21 Elton Jantjies MTN Golden Lions 0
22 Bjorn Basson Vodacom Blue Bulls 6

Record watch

· The Springboks have won the last nine consecutive Tests against England. This is a new record for South Africa against England. New Zealand is the only other country that had nine consecutive wins against England.


About Martin Myers
Music Supervisor / Artist and Talent Manager / Publicist / Music Exchange Founder / Owner Triple M Entertainment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: