2014 Wawela Awards evening takes place on Friday 27 June and recognises the best in South African music composition and song writing

The Southern African Music Rights Organisation (SAMRO) has announced the final list of nominees for the 2014 Wawela Music Awards – the only awards in the country that recognise the people behind the creation of the song, namely music composers, lyricists, song writers and publishers.

The awards cover the full spectrum of music composition and songwriting, including music created for television and film as well as commercials. With an overwhelming response from the music creators and an exciting line up of nominees in 2014, SAMRO believes that this year’s event will surpass the success of the 2013 awards.

The 2013 edition of the awards featured music great Johnny Clegg – who received the Prolific Catalogue of Works Award. The legendary Dorothy Masuku, who was also celebrating 60 years in the industry, took home the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Singer/songwriter Lira won the Songwriter of the Year Award and new comer Blck Porcelain walked away with two awards in the categories Best Female Artist and composer/co composer and Best Creative Album of the Year. Renowned music composers including Mbongeni Ngema, Sizwe Zako, Alan Lazar and Lebo M were also honoured..

The previous awards also saw film score composer and Music Exchange board member Dr Trevor Jones, best known for his work on a number of international films including Last of the Mohicans, Mississippi Burning and Notting Hill receiving the Breaking Through Borders accolade .

SAMRO Marketing General Manager, Tiyani Maluleke said there is certainly no shortage of music and song-writing talent in South Africa. “We are excited to announce this year’s nominees and are even more excited about announcing the winners on awards night,” she said

This year’s glittering ceremony is set to take place in Johannesburg on Friday 27 June.

Full of list of Wawela Awards 2014 nominees

Best Soundtrack in a Feature film or Theatrical Doc

•Phillip Miller

•Bruce Retief

•Orangotang Music

•Geo Hohn

Best song or composition in a television production

•Joe Niemand

•JB Arthur

•Colin Shapiro

Best song or composition in a television commercial

•Adam Howard

•Orangotang Music

•Louis Enslin

Best song or composition in a radio commercial

•Adam Howard

•Nicos Vouris & Keeno Lee Hector

•Mi Casa

Best creative album of the year


•Lindiwe Maxolo

•Lloyd Cele

Publisher of the year Award

•Sheer Publishing

•Black Coffee

•Fundile Mdingi

Songwriter of the Year

•Mi Casa

•Lindiwe Suttle


Best South African Duo/Group

•Crazy White Boy

•The Muffinz

•Trenton and the Free Radicals

Best Female Artist & composer/co-composer


•Lindiwe Suttle

•Black Byrd

Best Male Artist & composer/co-composer

•Ihashi Eli mhlophe

•Jimmy Nevis

•Black Coffee

For more information on the awards visit: www.wawelamusicawards.co.za

Follow us on:

Twitter: @WawelaMusic

Facebook: www.facebook.com/WawelaMusicAwards

About Martin Myers
Music Supervisor / Artist and Talent Manager / Publicist / Music Exchange Founder / Owner Triple M Entertainment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: