Crusaders team to play the Stormers named

The Crusaders are in South Africa this week to face Cape Town’s Stormers. Despite having won 72% of their games against the Stormers the Crusaders are taking nothing for granted. The Stormers are a formidable side that play a very physical game and on home turf they will be a force to be reckoned with.

Head Coach Todd Blackadder has named his team making four changes to the team that played the Kings last weekend.

Luke Whitelock takes the number eight jersey replacing injured skipper Kieran Read while Tyler Bleyendaal moves into first five-eighth to replace Dan Carter who has remained in New Zealand to be at the birth of his first child.

Israel Dagg returns to fullback, moving Tom Marshall back to the Wing and Zac Guildford to the bench. George Whitelock will captain the side.

The game will also mark a special occasion for inside centre and vice captain Ryan Crotty who will be playing his 50th Super Rugby game for the Crusaders. On the bench, Jordan Taufua will have the opportunity to make his first appearance for the Crusaders if called upon.

Kick-off is at 7:10pm on Saturday 23 March at DHL Newlands Stadium, Cape Town.

Crusaders team to play the Stormers:

1. Wyatt Crockett 9. Willi Heinz Reserves
2. Corey Flynn 10. Tyler Bleyendaal 16. Ben Funnell
3. Owen Franks 11. Johnny McNicholl 17. Joe Moody
4. Luke Romano 12. Ryan Crotty 18. Dominic Bird
5. Samuel Whitelock 13. Robbie Fruean 19. Jordan Taufua
6. George Whitelock (c) 14. Tom Marshall 20. Andy Ellis
7. Matt Todd 15. Israel Dagg 21. Adam Whitelock
8. Luke Whitelock 22. Zac Guildford



Allister Coetzee, head coach of the DHL Stormers, today named a team with a number of changes to the side that beat the Blues 28-26 in Auckland last Friday.

In an injury enforced change, Brok Harris replaces the injured CJ van der Linde at tight head, whilst Steven Kitshoff provides front row cover off the bench.

Duane Vermeulen, who has played all the games this season, is rotated to the bench, whilst Nick Koster is given a start in jersey 8.

In a horses for courses selection, Dewaldt Duvenage returns at scrumhalf, with Ricky Januarie providing cover from the bench.

Peter Grant is bracketed with Kurt Coleman at 10, for the injured Lionel Cronje. Peter Grant, who has been managed at practice this week, is given until Captains Run to recover fully from his ankle strain. Should Grant not pass his fitness test Coleman will start. If Grant is fit to play, Coleman falls out of the 22.

Juan de Jongh retains jersey 12, whilst Jean de Villiers, who returns from injury, wears jersey 21, playing off a strong bench. Jaque Fourie returns at outside centre with Johann Sadie moving to the bench.

“We have never beaten the Brumbies in Canberra and this week will be a tough challenge” said coach Allister Coetzee. “ The Australian sides are not just a physical threat, they are also tactically astute. Preparations have gone well this week and the team will be up for this game” added the coach.

The team is as follows:

15. Conrad Jantjes

14. Gio Aplon

13. Jaque Fourie

12. Juan de Jongh

11. Bryan Habana

10. Peter Grant (Kurt Coleman)

9. Dewaldt Duvenage

8. Nick Koster

7. Francois Louw

6. Schalk Burger (C)

5. Andries Bekker

4. Rynhardt Elstadt

3. Brok Harris

2. Deon Fourie

1. Wicus Blaauw


16. Tiaan Liebenberg

17. Steven Kitshoff

18. Anton Van Zyl

19. Duane Vermeulen

20. Ricky Januarie

21. Jean de Villiers

22. Johann Sadie

Referee: Marius Jonker

11h40 Saturday (SA Time): Brumbies VS DHL Stormers

Crusaders team to play the Stormers on Saturday 7th May

Crusaders Franchise
P O Box 755
Phone +64 (3) 379 8300
Fax +64 (3) 365 3565

May 4th, 2011

Team Release – Crusaders versus Stormers

The Crusaders team to play the Stormers at 5.05pm on Saturday 7th May at

Newlands Stadium, Cape Town is as follows:

1. Wyatt Crockett

2. Corey Flynn

3. Owen Franks

4. Luke Romano

5. Chris Jack

6. George Whitelock

7. Richie McCaw (Capt)

8. Kieran Read

9. Kahn Fotuali’i

10. Mat Berquist

11. Zac Guildford

12. Sonnybill Williams

13. Robbie Fruean

14. Sean Maitland

15. Israel Dagg

16. Quentin MacDonald

17. Andrew Olorenshaw

18. Joe Wheeler

19. Matt Todd

20. Willi Heinz

21. Adam Whitelock

22. Tom Marshall

For any further information please call Crusaders media manager Patrick
McKendry on 021 224 7480 or email Patrick.mckendry

Team Release Stormers 11.doc

2011 Rugby Fixtures

2011 Rugby Fixtures


2011 Rugby Fixtures.pdf

%d bloggers like this: